Commissioner, council and council staff of the Northwest Territories in November 1977
Commissioner, S.M. Hodgson
Deputy Commissioner, J.H. Parker
Assistant Commissioner, Gary Mullins
Members of the Council: Bill Lyall, Ipeelee
Kilabuk, Mark Evaluarjuk, Don M. Stewart,
Ludy Pudluk, Tom Butters, Peter Ernerk,

Royal commissions and commissions of inquiry

...

Federal commissions

3.4.1

Royal commissions, now generally called commissions of inquiry, established up to April 30, 1975 under Part I of the Inquiries Act are described in previous editions of the Canada Year Book beginning with the 1940 edition. The following list presents the federal commissions established between that date and October 3, 1977, and the name of the chief commissioner or chairman.

Financial Claims Commission, Hon. Thane A. Campbell Bilingual Districts Advisory Board, Paul Fox Inquiry into rail needs of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, Emmett Hall Inquiry into costs and revenue of grain (rail) traffic, Carl M. Snavely Commission of inquiry into financial controls of Air Canada, Hon. Mr. Justice W.Z. Estey Inquiry into crash of Lockheed aircraft near Rea Point, NWT, Judge W.A. Stevenson Commission of inquiry into bilingual air traffic services in Quebec, Co-Commissioners: Hon. Mr. Justice W.R. Sinclair, Hon. Mr. Justice Julien Chouinard, Hon. Mr. Justice D.V. Heald Correctional investigator, penitentiary problems, Miss Inger Hansen Royal Commission on financial management and accountability, Allen T. Lambert Commission of inquiry into establishment of a marine (oil) terminal at Kitimat, BC, Dr. Andrew R. Thompson Special inquirer for elder Indians' testimony, Dr. Lloyd I. Barber Canadian Indian Rights Commission, Hon. Mr. Justice E. Patrick Hartt Newfoundland Transportation Commission, Dr. Arthur Sullivan Task force on Canadian unity, Hon. Jean-Luc Pepin and Hon. John P. Robarts

Mr. Justice David C. McDonald. Provincial commissions

3.4.2

The following list presents provincial commissions established between July 1976 and November 1977, the name of the chief commissioner or chairman, and the date each was established:

Commission of inquiry concerning certain activities of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Hon.

Nova Scotia

To inquire into and make recommendations to the Governor-in-Council respecting the appropriate form of local government organization for the area of the County of Halifax lying in the vicinity of Sackville, H.M. Nason, September 8, 1977.

Quebec

To inquire into and advise on the systems of collective bargaining in the public and para-public sectors, Yves Martin, July 1977

To inquire into the cost of the 21st Olympic games and facilities, Albert H. Malouf, July 1977 To inquire into the search during the night of October 6/7, 1972 at 3459 St-Hubert Street in Montreal, Jean Keable, September 1977.

Ontario

To inquire into the North Pickering Project, Hon. J.F. Donnelly, October 26, 1976

To inquire into the state of freedom of information and individual privacy as it pertains to the government of Ontario, D. Carlton Williams, March 30, 1977

To investigate the safety and reliability of aluminum-wired electrical circuits for residential use, Tuzo Wilson, April 6, 1977

To inquire into the status of pensions in Ontario, Miss Donna J. Haley, QC, April 20, 1977

To inquire into any improper influence being brought to bear on members of the Ontario government or its public service by officials of Waste Management Inc., Mr. Justice Sam Hughes, May 12, 1977